Sunday, January 7, 2007

Day 1 (we're here again!?!?!?)

Ok... so right now it is 8:40 my time - I will be chatting with my mom in a few minutes, and the morning is off to a bit of a rough start. I woke up my roommate first thing - we have to turn on the hot water to take a shower and the switch is in her room. So I open the door gently and reach to turn it on. She wakes up of course. I tell her I have to turn the water on and she says (not thrilled) "I leave it on when I go to bed so you don't have to wake me up." Me: "Oh, thanks... ok, sorry." Then when taking a shower I knock some bottles down which make a large clatter - if you've ever know any girls that share a shower you know that there is so much clutter on the edge of the shower it's ridiculous. Anyway, I'm sure that that annoyed her further. We have class at the same time this morning, so I wonder if we will be leaving for work at the same time, in which case I wonder if she will be annoyed enough to say something.

Oh,well.

Woke up this morning at 6:15 fell asleep after 1:00 am. Should be a very long day, which is why I'm starting my blog now, so I have the energy and desire to finish it tonight!

I'm going to do my best today. This is equivalent to watching someone drive for a day, given some instruction and then being told to drive. Anyway, off to chat with mom and dad, more blogging tonight.

So I did my best. At least I can say that.
Highlights:

one kid gave me a sticker
another gave me a hug
they had fried seaweed at lunch
2 boys wrote a "funny" story in which they become homeless people, who, enraged at the callousness of the citizens around them buy a knife and "will kill people forever". It did use the future tense, so I really can't say
anything too bad.
I survived
tomorrow will be better



Lowlights (unfortunatly there are more of these):

I made a 6 year old cry
a huge mix up which basically ended in me having
absolutely no preparation for one class
another class a poor girl had to ask
me "Teacher, please to speak slower"
they also had some crazy pepper thing for lunch
2 boys wrote a "funny" story in which they become homeless people, who, enraged at the callousness of the citizens around them buy a knife and "will kill people forever". They also spelled people "poepel"
I have homework to do
I survived
tomorrow exists


It really wasn't as bad as it feels like it was. Tomorrow will be better b/c I know more of what to expect. it was just a really really long day. and I literally have papers to grade. Crazy. Anyway all in all not a 100% disaster (just 93%) and tomorrow will be better if only because it will be over at 6:00 pm rather than todays 9:45 pm.

I had sent some papers to the school for my Visa that would be returned to me and they were. In the FedEx envelope they went it. It smelled like home...mostly cigarettes, but still home :)

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

I know I am a "cup half full" person. So, After reading your class experiences, I saw it a lot of positive stuff. I am certain the showering arrangements will be worked out over time - it would help to know the hot water is on :-). What in the world is the gig with the homeless story? Do they have a homeless problem in Korea or is it a sensitive subject that the kids recieve from their families and local news stories about other countries?

Oh well - first day of work - you survived, the kids survived and it only gets easier from the first day forward! I Love you - keep up the blogs!

Dad

Anonymous said...

WELL you made it thru the first day
one kid even gave you a hug..that is pretty great in itself..now you have to learn to SPEAK SLOWER is this possible? Too bad the food is not better..if the water and shower problem is the worse it gets in that apartment that won't be bad..You made it thru the first day it is almost time now for the second day and it will go better
LUV U GRAMS

Anonymous said...

Hey Cassie, doesn't sound to bad to me, but then again you know me! I agree with all, it will only get better.

Keep your chin up!

Love ya!
Ambree (oh and Violet says bababbab) I think that may be "hello" in baby.?!??! Anyway we are always thinking about you!

Anonymous said...

See I told ya stickers were good! They even give them to you along with hugs. Thats sounds like a Great first day. When you are 6 Cry happens..there are worse things The room mate will get used to you. It was nice of her to leave the water on... maybe next time she does something nice for you she will mention it!Leaving a note works well
Keep up the good job!!!
Love you
Aunt Sandi

Anonymous said...

You got a sticker and seaweed all in one day! Your first day sounds like it was awesome to me, because you survived and went back! I'm so proud of you - I would have been terrified! :-)

Anonymous said...

Hi Cassie, I sure enjoy the blogs, you are so funny. I hope all in all you're having a good time. What does fried seaweed taste like anyway? Keep up the good work, Love you Aunt Trica