Sunday, January 14, 2007
Start of Week 2
I hope you guys slept well (or had a great day, or whatever appropriate thing to say here). I didn't sleep so great. I just couldn't shut my brain off. I was basically half asleep until about 4:00ish (that's the last time I looked at my watch anyway). Then I took a sudafed to help me sleep - awful, huh? But when I woke up at 8:00, I was glad I got at least a little sleep. I was thinking about what's going on with my friends, how stressful my week could be at school, and what I will do when this adventure is over. I know a little early to think about the end, but whenever I think about being here for the full year, I start to really panic. I think about what could happen over this next year (I think about missing the good things and bad things) and think I can't throw away a full year. So I've broken it down into 3 month increments. So at this point I'm considering the end around April-ish. Then I will reevaluate and see where I stand. Anyway, my brain just would not shut up.
Despite being pretty tired, the morning classes went pretty well. One kid (probably a 4th grader), Potter, couldn't be quiet in the first class and the punishment was a few minutes outside with his hands up and then he was allowed to come back in and stand in the corner with his hands up - I didn't want him to miss the lesson. He's a handful... just can't stop talking!
In my second class this morning, I had made up a board game and while it wasn't genious or anything the class (teenagers) seemed thrilled. One boy, Sean, was like "You are the best beautiful teacher." I think he was laying it on a little thick, but it was still nice - that was the worst class to teach last Monday and Tuesday and now I actually don't completely dread those 50 minutes...
Lunch was pork and rice... meat!!!
This afternoon I put an entire class in 'hands up' mode for the last ten minutes. They were openly talking and mocking and ignoring me. Feels strange to be a disciplinarian. I'm a hard-ass.
Well another long day with very little sleep (this is shockingly like last Monday), so I think I'll head off to bed.
Love you all.
Ubiquitous Dream

Friday, January 12, 2007
You lucky lucky people!
So last night: After a very long day a work (I got off at 10:00pm) we decided to go out and celebrate the divorce and watch Cassie experience Soju. And I did. We went to 2 bars. The first one was Jjokki Jjokki (www.jjokki.com - it's the year of the gold pig) and the second was 1 Bar (ironic). I'm pretty sure we left the first bar because we were too loud. Luckily 1 Bar doesn't have any soju, so I just drank beer there. Soju tastes slightly like Vodka, but much less strong. I was chasing the shots with a Sprite like soda and that worked just fine - didn't need anything else. I remember laughing a lot and hugging a lot. One thing is for sure, it's a happy-drunk drink. I did get home just fine and fell right asleep, but did turn on the computer, intending to send drunk emails. Didn't manage to do that which is probably for the best (some silly things would've been sent for sure, but since I'm expecting a divorce check, something probably would've been sent about that too). Woke up this morning and had definitely come down. It is not a happy hangover drink. We went to Home Plus this afternoon for the samples and some food stuffs and now am feeling much better. I think showering and walking around are the 2nd best hangover helpers. Coke is obviously the best, but I haven't had any since I left Atlanta because they are fairly expensive and I don't want to get into that habit. Speaking of money, I didn't pay for anything last night which was good, but I'm pretty sure that's a one time deal. :) Divorce has definite benefits!
This morning, I found some porn/advertisements that I had picked up on the way home last night and modestly posed Dwight with them and took a photo, but my memory card reader for my camera broke :( They are pretty cheap and I'm going to try to find a new one tomorrow at Seoul or maybe I'll go back to Home Plus... it's almost dinner time. I am so tacky. Dwight will be going to Seoul with us tomorrow and there should be plenty of pictures to post, so I'll definitely want a new one sooner rather than later.
So Heidi had to work this morning and I was sleeping off that hangover so we decided to go to Seoul tomorrow for some sight-seeing. We were going to go to some palaces, but they are apparently open-air and it's really cold here, so we will probably save that for Spring.
Love you all!
No more posts until tomorrow you addicts!
Soju
Thursday, January 11, 2007
Thursday (I've got nothing clever to say here)
Well another day has passed and I am slowly running out of thrilling things to tell you. :)
Things I have learned today:
- upulnee means basket
- Korea is every night littered with advertisements resembling pornography (or what I would guess porn looks like - I don't know first hand!!!). I don't know what the advertisments are for, but I'm guessing it's not milk and eggs on sale at Home Plus. There are some many advertisments on the ground on the way to work in the 'bar section', that I can play a little game wondering if I can walk that section without stepping on a naked lady.
- That I shouldn't listen to Johnny Cash when I am alone in the apartment... want to feel lonely, that's a good way to get there fast.
I have to be sure to take my multivitamin and Airborne these days, we have one sick teacher and a couple of sick kids around. I don't want to get sick right away, I don't know that I could handle it!
Seriously... really boring.
Oh wait! For lunch today I had rice, fried seaweed and egg drop soup.
Til tomorrow... hopefully I will have something to write about!
Wednesday, January 10, 2007
I'm a teacher star!
I was not accosted by the police, I was not told F*** you by any kids of any age and my divorce is final. All in all a pretty good day :) I was very tired at the end of the day, because I did work from 9:30 to 9:45, but I got a good night's sleep last night and am feeling alright now.
So I've had some questions about the mechanics of my actual teaching. Here's what I know: I'm not a great teacher. I'm probably not even a good teacher. But in the words of one of the other foreign teachers, I don't think I'm hurting their language skills. :) I generally will read from the lesson and then try to get them to repeat and write down any words they struggle over. Then after we have gone through the lesson once, I will try to explain the struggle words to them through charades or pictures or examples. A lot of them have cell phones and will look the words up and the cell will translate the word to them. This is interesting to me and I let them do it, as long as they are getting the english and the lesson, I figure it's alright. Then I try to have some sort of game devised to get them to learn the lesson, using involving spelling or finding the right definition or using it in a sentence? And they love to run, so if the game can involve running and the lesson, score! So those are my skills. Skip years of education and instead follow these quick easy steps to teacher stardom...
Tuesday, January 9, 2007
I'm Divorced!
Monday, January 8, 2007
Day 2 - or the "day of the teacher" ... or day of the "police"?
So anyway this morning's classes went much better, still a little like pulling teeth to get the older kids to talk, but maybe they will warm up. If not, every day for the rest of the month between 11:55-12:35 I will talk to myself. I'm pretty good at that and even if they aren't listening, maybe osmosis will kick in.
There was one panic moment... I'm alone in the teacher's room (big room, 10 desks, this is where we plan, etc, etc...) and my desk drawers are kinda sticking... well, I force them shut to have my purse be out of view. Then I try to open it. They locked. Luckily I was alone, because I crawled all around that desk trying to figure a way in and started cursing at myself for being so stupid. If something won't close, why do I have the desire to force it???! I tried picking up the corner of the desk and dropping it and pulling and lever-ing it with a ruler and finally I was frustrated and embarrassed and just said screw it. I'll just wait until one of the supervising teachers comes in and say someone else "maybe a student..." shut my desk drawers and now they won't open. At this point my hands were almost raw from pulling. I decided to give it one more try and they opened ... needless to say this desk cannot be trusted and I will not be closing the drawers again any time soon.
Anyway, this afternoon still has an opportunity to be disastrous, as there is a Kindergartner class and we know I am brutal on those kids and am hoping to make 2 cry today. But thanks to you guys for reading and commenting on the positives rather than focusing on the negatives the way I was... I think the best advice I got in a pep talk was "Keep your toenails up and your elbows on the floor and you will have a great day..." There may have been more to it than that, but thanks for the wisdom, Just Jeff. Anyway, I am going to read and decompress for a little while.
So this afternoon was different. After lunch, I had my kindergartner class - which went much better with crayons and things to do - and it turns out they are probably 1st graders, so I may be able to do more with them than color.
Then, between my first and second class I was pulled aside by a man speaken Korean. Angry (I felt) Korean. Luckily Mr. Lee (the supervisor) came up and started talked to him... finally Mr. Lee asked to show my ID. I don't carry my passport with me, because it would be a huge pain if I lost it. The man asks me if I have a Visa - I told him yes, of course. One of the Korean teachers said an E-2. He laughed and looked at me and said "tell me the truth, where is your Visa, your passport, your Alien ID card? What kind of Visa do you have??" At this point I'm starting to panic. Am I going to Korean prison? At worst they would just send me home, right? So I said as calmly as I could "I have an E-2 Visa (long term teacher Visa) at my Apartment. " Now he is getting agitated and saying "ID!" so I gave him my driver's license (which looks nothing like me and reads Hricko. My passport is under the much better name of Lewis. ) My mouth is incredibly dry because the man (officer?) has my whole wallet and is digging through it. He says something to Mr. Lee and the principal (Mr. P) and they ask me to get to my apartment and bring my Passport back. The man starts hassling Heidi (the other American) at this point and she is also sent back to get hers. So we trek to the apartment and back (our classes were being covered) which took about 25 minutes. She is incredibly calm (but then again she's been through this before and I think it was worse because it was in Ghana, Africa. She wins.) and I am panicked and sweaty. I have my marriage license and my marriage certificate and my passport and my social security card. I am picturing weapons (probably batons, but maybe knives!) and 5 more of these angry Korean men and lights and no water...very Korean Law&Order type of crap. We get to the school and the policeman has left. Apparently he was not as concerned as he acted and all the Koreans believe. When I tell this story to my grandchildren, it will involve knives and lights and no water, trust me. For a minute I thought I was coming home. :)
Anyway, we went back to teaching. I was greeted this afternoon by 8 boys saying "F*** you!" and showing me their middle finger.
All in all this was a better day than yesterday, believe it or not.
We may be going out tonight to play some pool or something. I wanted to show you a picture of the nightlife view from my apartment. This is another reason why the curtain was necessary.
Sunday, January 7, 2007
Day 1 (we're here again!?!?!?)
Ok... so right now it is 8:40 my time - I will be chatting with my mom in a few minutes, and the morning is off to a bit of a rough start. I woke up my roommate first thing - we have to turn on the hot water to take a shower and the switch is in her room. So I open the door gently and reach to turn it on. She wakes up of course. I tell her I have to turn the water on and she says (not thrilled) "I leave it on when I go to bed so you don't have to wake me up." Me: "Oh, thanks... ok, sorry." Then when taking a shower I knock some bottles down which make a large clatter - if you've ever know any girls that share a shower you know that there is so much clutter on the edge of the shower it's ridiculous. Anyway, I'm sure that that annoyed her further. We have class at the same time this morning, so I wonder if we will be leaving for work at the same time, in which case I wonder if she will be annoyed enough to say something.
Oh,well.
Woke up this morning at 6:15 fell asleep after 1:00 am. Should be a very long day, which is why I'm starting my blog now, so I have the energy and desire to finish it tonight!
I'm going to do my best today. This is equivalent to watching someone drive for a day, given some instruction and then being told to drive. Anyway, off to chat with mom and dad, more blogging tonight.
So I did my best. At least I can say that.
Highlights:
one kid gave me a sticker
another gave me a hug
they had fried seaweed at lunch
2 boys wrote a "funny" story in which they become homeless people, who, enraged at the callousness of the citizens around them buy a knife and "will kill people forever". It did use the future tense, so I really can't say
anything too bad.
I survived
tomorrow will be better
Lowlights (unfortunatly there are more of these):
I made a 6 year old cry
a huge mix up which basically ended in me having
absolutely no preparation for one class
another class a poor girl had to ask
me "Teacher, please to speak slower"
they also had some crazy pepper thing for lunch
2 boys wrote a "funny" story in which they become homeless people, who, enraged at the callousness of the citizens around them buy a knife and "will kill people forever". They also spelled people "poepel"
I have homework to do
I survived
tomorrow exists
It really wasn't as bad as it feels like it was. Tomorrow will be better b/c I know more of what to expect. it was just a really really long day. and I literally have papers to grade. Crazy. Anyway all in all not a 100% disaster (just 93%) and tomorrow will be better if only because it will be over at 6:00 pm rather than todays 9:45 pm.
I had sent some papers to the school for my Visa that would be returned to me and they were. In the FedEx envelope they went it. It smelled like home...mostly cigarettes, but still home :)
Day 4.5 (for mom)
Saturday, January 6, 2007
Such an exciting weekend



Friday, January 5, 2007
Day 2
So I have been here for about 36 hours... and I have gone to work already.
It is 6:06 am (still jetlagged), I will probably have cheezits or some snack for breakfast and it's too dark to see the weather, but I'm guessing cooooold. :)
So yesterday I observed all day, and not that much exciting stuff happened, but some durn funny stuff did, so I will give you the downlow on that. My first class to observe was some deliriously rambunctious 5 year olds. They were practicing the words "I have", "I see", "teddy bear" and "robot". Looking ahead, I will be (on Monday) teaching them about the color Pink - not the singer - and "I want" and "doll". I think this will be my favorite class. The teacher I watched was hilarious and the kids really seemed to like her. In another class, they were playing a drawing game. They are all about games here and the kids really react when you say the words "quick game". So they were playing pictionary and the 10-year old kid came to the board and obviously drew alcohol. The other 10-year olds didn't guess what it was, so the teacher asked. The kid replied "soju" - Korean alcohol. The teacher just said "Ok, well next time English words, ok?" Pretty entertaining that a 10-year old is thinking about alcohol at 4:00 in the afternoon. I know I was. Another kid was trying to ask a teacher what english was for a word. He was getting flustered and she didn't understand, so finally he acted it out. He was being crucified on a cross. Another kid came up and hammered his hands and he even let his head droop when he was dead. I was pretty much horrified. The teacher guessed "You are Jesus?" then the kid got really flustered and drew a cross on the board. So the word was cross. At this point the kids let out a string of Korean and the word cross. I have no idea what the conversation was about, but it's seems deep and complicated.
For lunch I ate alone and confidently (after Thursday's plane ride) got fairly large portions. It turned out to be spicy cooked squid and kimchi. I washed it down with a starburst. For those keeping score: Cassie 1, Korean food 1. These two things are definitely acquired tastes and I probably wasted more than I ate.



Thursday, January 4, 2007
Day 1
So day 1 started with dry heaves due to nerves. LJ took me to the airport where we had our goodbyes. I suck at goodbyes. Basically all I could do was cry and tell her that I was scared. Pretty durn sad. I was making last minute phone calls while I was waiting and I don't think there was a single one that I didn't bawl during. At the airport, I found out that both of my bags were overweight. I am definitely the worlds worst worst packer. I'm going to try to go through and figure out if there is some stuff that I can mail back, but we will see. also at the airport I took this really groovy picture of my plane. It was a double decker! Only the business class was upstairs, so I never really got to see it or anything, but it still was pretty rad.

So the flight starts at noon - and we quickly learn that the in-flight entertainment system is broken. Yuck. Luckily I had my book....which I finished about half-way through the flight. Luckily I had Sudoku (I know how that angers some of you!)
I had a feeling of immense pride and surely had a silly goofy smile on my face while I ate Bibimbap - the korean meal on the plane. Given the choice between the western meal and the korean meal, I chose to start my adventure. Jeff told me to be proud of myself and I am going to be. Still scared to death, but pretty impressed with myself also.
Don't let the sun go down on me...
So this cheesy but delightul song came on my mp3 player (I admit it - I like Elton John and George Michael was featured on this version and I thoroughly enjoyed it) and I realized that today the Sun won't go down. We chased the sunset the whole way and eventually started to catch up to it. So I can't say "I lost a day on this flight" I can say I lost a night and a morning. I'm ok with that - I'm not a morning person.
I walked around the plane for about an hour - trying to get some blood flowing. Probably should have done more, but this nice elderly woman next to me slept the whole way and I hated disturbing her.
The mountains we flew over were amazing! I have to believe it was Washington state area, but I don't really know. They were beautiful though and I saw ice on the ocean. I've never seen that before.
I also managed to sleep for about 2 hours, but it was difficult at best. The Sun was up, I was a nervous wreck and I thought if I can just stay up, I can maybe avoid jetlag, a little. It's 6:22 am as write this - I didn't avoid jet lag.
About 4:00 or so, the captain (my captain) announced that we would be landing soon. I went through immigration without a hitch and forgot to exchange my money, but was picked up by a very nice man and his daughter from the school. We went to the school - where I met one of my roommates (seems like a nice girl) and other teachers who will have to be reintroduced to me today.
Anyway, I came to the apartment (home!) and pretty much just got right into bed. I didn't sleep great - I never do in new places and definitely had some thoughts of "why did you get yourself into this", but, strangely, woke up (at 5 am) feeling pretty confident. We shall see how I feel next week after I have been working there for awhile as an actual teacher.
I miss all of you and am so grateful for all the well wishes I've gotten today and over the past week. Keep 'em coming. 364 more of these days to go.
Tuesday, January 2, 2007
Hiya Kids
Today is sort of my New Year's Eve - I leave for Korea tomorrow. Trying not to panic but we are so close to me being so far away. It sounds like my flatmates are working hard though to make me feel comfortable... one of them has been 'preparing my desk'? Which I'm not sure what that means, but as long as 'desk' doesn't mean bed or coffin, I'm sure it will be nice.
So dreams last night - one was pretty good - I got to take a practice flight which made me realize a couple of things I may want to carry on that weren't packed (and aren't in real life!) like a book light and AAA batteries for my MP3 player - so I think I'll buy both of those things at the airport to take advice from my subconscious.
2nd dream was much less pleasant. We were crashing into the ocean and I was trying to call my mom to tell her that I love her, but I was thinking of all the people that may not (or may, but we don't acknowledge it) know that I love them. So if you are reading this, it means you are on my list of people that I love. So... I love you.